Professor Philip Gross appointed to the Council of the Society of Authors.

April 24, 2017

Poet and novelist Philip Gross, Professor of Creative Writing at USW, has been appointed to the Council of the Society of Authors.

The Council of the Society of Authors is an honorary body of up to 60 eminent authors. Council Member is an accolade conferred by the Management Committee on members of high standing who have been exceptional in their support of the Society.

The four new members are Anne Fine, Philip Gross, Judith Kerr and Lemn Sissay. They join the president Philip Pullman and, among others, Malorie Blackman, Anthony Beevor, Neil Gaiman and JK Rowling.

Philip Gross commented: 'It’s a privilege to be invited to serve the Society of Authors as a Council member, and particularly at a time like this. In an age of friction, change and complication, who better than authors, such a famously diverse and individual bunch (we are the cats who won’t be herded) to show that we can meet and represent our common interests… especially when that common interest is to be as gloriously different as we, and all our readers, truly are – to be that different for the culture’s sake?’

Tagged: Philip Gross