Professor Philip Gross wins Cholmondeley Award 2017

June 22, 2017

Poet Philip Gross is one of the winners of this year’s Cholmondeley Awards. Philip-Gross

The Awards are given by the Society of Authors in recognition of a poet’s body of work and their contribution to poetry. The other winners were Caroline Bergvall, Sasha Dugdale and Paula Meehan. Each writer receives £2,000, from a fund founded by the late Dowager Marchioness of Cholmondeley in 1966 to recognise the achievement and distinction of individual poets.

Professor Gross won the T.S. Eliot Prize for Poetry (2009), has been shortlisted for the Whitbread Prize (2001) and received a PBS Recommendation (2001). He has collaborated with numerous artists and his experience of words and silence in his Quaker beliefs are reflected in his work.

The awards are judged by writers and this year’s assessors were Paul Farley, Rod Mengham and Pascale Petit. Mimi Khalvati said of Professor Gross’s work: 'In exploring his fascination in language and wordlessness, he constantly delights us with his acute acts of seeing and his boundless verbal imagination.’

Professor Gross said: 'This is a real affirmation – not a prize for a single poem or even for a single book, but for a whole body of writing, in my case, work of nearly forty years (and still counting).’

Tagged: Philip Gross